User Generated Favorites to produce a Custom Map

• Swinge
  • Topic Author
More
11 years 10 months ago #825 by Swinge
Please forgive the simplicity of my questions, I am not a developer so I hope I don't waste your time.

Is there a way that a user could browse various maps and add placemarks to favorites to generate their own map? Could this map be printable?

Because I don't speak developer I also have some questions about the current functionality, I will assume they are all yes unless you specifically tell me that I am not correct:

1. Placemarks can be generated dynamically from addresses in the database.
2. It is possible to draw numerous polygon figures to display different areas on the same map (KML)
3. Placemaker is customisable in size, font and layout
4. It is possible to highlight one placemark but display other placemarks within the same category (in my case for instance showing a particular shoe store in a large descriptive placemark but also display other shoes stores in the area with small icons).
5.It is possible to display multiple categories (icon types) within the same map (clusters?)

Thank you very much for your time

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 years 10 months ago #828 by Dima
Hi.

Check my documentation.

You can enable in map properties ability to enter custom placemarks for registered users.

A1 - you can't automatically create placemarks by its addresses. You can use MySQL console to create records in placemark table with text address, and after that you get map with this placemarks.
But Google Maps API v2 restrict geocoding about 12 addresses in one time, therefore you'll get errors when will show this placemarks.
I suggest using this field (text address) for importing placemarks into my component tables, and after that manual move in backend of each placemark its position to set latitude\longitude attrubutes.
I write about that in documentation